Think before you send
If you share an image of yourself online by photo, text or video, via your phone, tablet or computer always think first,
“would I be ok with anyone and everyone seeing this?”
Any image of yourself that you send, can and might be shared by the person you sent it to. Once you press send, it is no longer in your control.
If you share a ‘nude’ or ‘underwear shot’ even with someone you trust, you are not able to control who they forward it to or where they save it. It can be sent on to anyone or posted anywhere on the internet. It could end up on social networking sites or even porn sites.
You should never feel pressured to send an image of yourself to anyone. Think about why someone would want you to do this. Once they have your image, they have it forever and could even use it against you.
Did you know?
Being involved in sending explicit pictures, where the person in the picture is under the age of 18, can be a criminal offence. This could lead to you getting into trouble with the police, affect your chances of getting a job and even limit the countries that you can travel to.
If someone is forcing you to send an inappropriate image of yourself you should report them to the Police by calling 101.
Download ChildLine's free Zipit app for loads of great comebacks if someone's trying to get you to send them a sexual image.
Before you share a photo of yourself always:
"Think before you send"
Don’t send anything you wouldn’t want your parents, teachers, friends or future employers to see!
Watch the "Think you know" video, about a 15 year old girl who sends indecent photos of herself to her boyfriend without thinking of the consequences.